Alexander Skarsgård GQ Style Interview Part Deux


santress:

GQ Style:  Recently you did a video interview with the Los Angeles Times – and you wore eyeliner. Do you do that often?

Alexander Skarsgard:  Ha! No, that was only for the shoot. The photographer wanted it that way.

GQS:  C’mon, you’re wearing eyeliner regularly.

Alex:  Yes of course. But only at home when I’m wearing the dresses of my girlfriend.

GQS:  And the mane?

Alex:  Sometimes I still got it. I always let my hair grow between jobs. On my head, in my face. I like that. And it’s practical. Before every role you’ve got all the possibilities to look like the character you’re supposed to play.

GQS:  Do you sometimes tell the stylist on set that they have no concept of their job?

Alex:  I’ve never had to. But a good costume designers knows that a wrong pair of sneakers can destroy the credibility of the character.

GQ Style:  Is it true that Lars von Trier demanded you diet your True Blood body down for Melancholia?
Alexander Skarsgard:  I really lost weight, actually a lot. But Lars didn’t tell me to. After I read the script I thought a football body wouldn’t fit the movie.
GQS:  Is falling in love with Kirsten Dunst avoidable if you’re playing her movie husband?
Alex:  Wait a moment. I had to take off my shirt in front of Lars von Trier once. And he wanted less muscles. I’m rather skinny and before every True Blood season I start eating a lot of meat, go to the gym daily to weigh 10 kg more when shooting begins. Well 10 kg more on muscles. With Melancholia it was in reverse. For that I lost the 10 kg.
GQS:  You didn’t answer the Kirsten Dunst question.
Alex:  Which Kirsten Dunst question?
GQS:  If you automatically fall in love when doing a movie with her.
Alex:  Yes, no. She’s ravishing, loose, funny. It was a pleasure to work with her. I hope she enjoyed it too.
GQS:  Why is Lars von Trier actually in your good books? Your movie gets presented in Cannes, basically had a big chance to win the Palm d’Or - and then he says he’s a Nazi.
Alex:  That was obviously a silly joke. And instead of correcting the issue he digs his own grave even deeper. Of course Lars is not a Nazi.
(Source:  GQ Style Germany F/W 11/12, Scans:  Lotti/The Library:  Translation:  Bagberry13/The Purse Forum

GQ Style:  Is it true that Lars von Trier demanded you diet your True Blood body down for Melancholia?

Alexander Skarsgard:  I really lost weight, actually a lot. But Lars didn’t tell me to. After I read the script I thought a football body wouldn’t fit the movie.

GQS:  Is falling in love with Kirsten Dunst avoidable if you’re playing her movie husband?

Alex:  Wait a moment. I had to take off my shirt in front of Lars von Trier once. And he wanted less muscles. I’m rather skinny and before every True Blood season I start eating a lot of meat, go to the gym daily to weigh 10 kg more when shooting begins. Well 10 kg more on muscles. With Melancholia it was in reverse. For that I lost the 10 kg.

GQS:  You didn’t answer the Kirsten Dunst question.

Alex:  Which Kirsten Dunst question?

GQS:  If you automatically fall in love when doing a movie with her.

Alex:  Yes, no. She’s ravishing, loose, funny. It was a pleasure to work with her. I hope she enjoyed it too.

GQS:  Why is Lars von Trier actually in your good books? Your movie gets presented in Cannes, basically had a big chance to win the Palm d’Or – and then he says he’s a Nazi.

Alex:  That was obviously a silly joke. And instead of correcting the issue he digs his own grave even deeper. Of course Lars is not a Nazi.

GQ Style:  Are you at the most important point of your career at the moment? You can choose the Jon-Hamm-path to become a famous series actor. Or the one of James Franco and become an unusual Hollywood star. Which direction do you choose?
Alexander Skarsgard:  I have no master plan. I’m just convinced you can do both. Productions in Europe and then again blockbusters, and with the money I earned there I will get a warehouse somewhere in the desert only for my clothes.
GQS:  When did you actually stop correcting Americans with the pronunciation of your name?
Alex:  Right from the beginning. It’s hopeless. I’m not even introducing myself right. It’s only important to me that they write the little circle above the a.
GQS:  And how do you correctly pronounce Skarsgård?
Alex:  Skarschgoord.*
*Translator’s note:  That’s the German version, it’s Skarshgoard.
GQ Style:  If you Google your last name, the first thing that appears is your face – and then your father’s. Is he jealous of that?
Alexander Skarsgard:  Our family doesn’t look at this as a competition.
GQS:  What was the best advice your father ever gave you?
Alex:  ”Only do it if you really want it.”
GQ Style:  Your homeland produces a lot of good fashion, nice cars, pretty furniture, great houses. Do Scandinavians have a complex or why are they trying so hard?
Alexander Skarsgard:  Could be. The Swedes indeed place a lot of value on setting trends or knowing the newest bars in every city. Probably it’s really some kind of insecurity that we think we have to prove to ourselves how hip and informed we are. That we’re not those quirky beings who are living somewhere in the North in their ice cavity.
GQS:  Most men decide in the beginning of their 30s if they want to appear grown up and wearing suits most of the time or if they want to stay the casual type. We’re not sure with you. You seem as sublime in black tie as in jeans, a t-shirt and sneakers.
Alex:  Because I feel comfortable in both.
GQS:  Do you own more plaid shirts than fine apparel?
Alex:  Honestly yes. Actually plenty of them.
GQS:  Then you’re more the casual type.
Alex:  It’s possible. Nevertheless, I sometimes enjoy following a dress code. Not long ago I wore a three-piece suit by Tom Ford. It was superb even though I don’t want to look like that every day.
GQ Style:  Who is for you the most substantial male style icon of all time?
Alexander Skarsgard:  I have to think about this.
GQS:  Please.
Alex:  Well … Steve McQueen.
GQS:  My God, that’s the standard answer of all boring actors.
Alex:  I only thought of it because a friend of mine gave me a wonderful coffee-table book of Steve McQueen.
GQS:  Alright.
Alex:  You wanted to hear something uncommon? Then I say Joakim Thåström, the singer of the 70s punk band Ebba Grön. He’s still making music. As a child I was a huge fan of him and it’s stayed this way until today.
GQ Style:  Music seems to be your second biggest passion besides acting.
Alexander Skarsgard:  Right. I’m still going to festivals in my mid-30s. I’m a regular at Way Out West in Göteborg, the best one of its kind. It takes place in the middle of the city, in a park – and you can stay comfortably in a hotel. I’m actually too old to wake up at 5 in the morning because someone’s peeing on my sleeping bag. I also like to go to Coachella in Indio, California. But it’s more familiar in Sweden. I can drink my beer in peace, listen to music and there are no paparazzi.
GQS:  What are the last 3 records you bought?
Alex:  Wild Beasts, The Walkmen, Bon Iver. I’m the indie type.
(Source:  GQ Style Germany F/W 11/12, Scans:  Lotti/The Library:  Translation:  Bagberry13/The Purse Forum)
Leave a Reply

